Name of Institution: Xinjiang University
Location: Urumqi, Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, China

Brief Introduction
  Xinjiang University (XJU), located in Urumqi – the capital city of Xinjiang in the northwestern region of China – was founded in 1924. In recent years, XJU became nationally the sole cardinal comprehensive university in Xinjiang; listed as one of the universities under the National 211 Project. In addition, the university is the first institution for higher education to receive utmost priority support from both the People’s Government of the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region and the Ministry of Education.

  1924 – Founding of Xinjiang Russian and Law School
  1935 – Converting to Xinjiang College
  1960 – Founding of Xinjiang University
  2000 – Merging with Xinjiang Engineering Institute and founding the new       Xinjiang University

  XJU has three campuses – the Main Campus, the North Campus and the South campus – covering a total area of 2,900,000 square meters; of which 900,000sqm being the edifices. Furthermore, the university encompasses modern computer-based libraries, spacious gymnasiums, as well as, first-rate teaching and research facilities.

Teachers and Students
  At this time, the university has 1,659 full-time teachers, of which 199 are professors and 614 are associate professors. Of these, 310 teachers hold PhD degrees and 819 teachers have MA degrees. As for students, the total enrollment number is 30,000 with undergraduates numbering 19,000, postgraduates 3550; plus, 400 international students and the rest for other miscellaneous studies.

Colleges, Research Centers and Disciplines
  Currently, Xinjiang University has 22 colleges, 1 independent college, 1 teaching and research department, 4 teaching practice centers, 8 research institutes, and 1 international arid and semi-arid area sustainable development research center. In the area of disciplines, XJU has 75 undergraduate programs covering liberal arts, science, law, economics, engineering, management, history, philosophy and art. Today, XJU has 2 cardinal state-level disciplines – Applied Mathematics and Language and Literature of Ethnic Groups in China – and 16 essential province-level disciplines.